Home>Who we are>Diocesan Synod
Share |

Diocesan Synod

The Diocesan Synod is the main policy-making body of the diocese and the forum for the discussion of issues important in diocesan life. It meets once a year in May/June for four days in Continental Europe. Members were elected by Archdeaconry Representatives on 27th October 2009 to serve for three years, commencing 1st November 2009 (for the triennium, 2010-2012). In addition, the Bishop may appoint up to four nominees who are members of the appropriate house. All members are also members of the Diocesan Board of Finance that is responsible for the custody and management of diocesan finances. As a company limited by guarantee the Board is governed by the Companies Act and by its Memorandum and Articles of Association.

President: The Bishop

Clerical Vice-President:

Lay Vice-President:

Secretary: The Diocesan Secretary


House of Bishops

The Bishop, The Right Reverend Dr Robert Innes

The Suffragan Bishop, The Right Reverend Dr David Hamid

House of Clergy

Ex officio:

General Synod

The Very Revd John Paddock (Dean)

The Rev Canon Geoff Johnston (Gibraltar)

Elected members:

The Revd Canon Malcolm Bradshaw (Eastern)

The Revd Elaine Labourel (France)

The Revd Kenneth Dimmick (Germany & N Europe)

The Revd Jennifer Elliott de Riverol (Gibraltar)

The Revd Paul Ormrod (Gibraltar)

The Revd Anne Lowen (Switzerland)

The Revd Canon Simon Godfrey

The Revd Richard Bromley (Bishop's Nominee)

House of Laity

Ex officio members:

(General Synod)

The Worshipful Mark Hill QC  (Chancellor)

Mr Michael Hart Chairman (DBF)

Elected members:

Ms Miranda Kopetzky (Eastern)

Mr David Bean (France)

Mrs Dani Carew (France)

Mrs Sarah Hardenberg (France)

Mr Nigel Rowley (Germany & N Europe)

Mrs Joan Berry (Gibraltar)

Mrs Celia Paterson (Gibraltar)

Mr David Coulston (Gibraltar)

Mr Paul Tillbrook (Italy & Malta)

Mr Nicholas Leaver (Switzerland)

Ms Mary Talbot (Switzerland)

Mr David Gowan CMG (Bishop’s Nominee)


Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod

(also the Vacancy in See Committee)

The committee comprises the president and vice-presidents of the Synod, the Chairman of the DBF and one elected clerical and one elected lay member from each archdeaconry.

House of Bishops

The Bishop ex-officio, President of the Synod The Suffragan Bishop (ex-officio)

House of Clergy

elections pending

House of Laity

elections pending



Mr Adrian Mumford (Diocesan Secretary)

The Bishop’s Council

The Bishop’s Council is not a Synodical body and is not constituted by houses of clergy and laity. Its membership is part elected (the Standing Committee), part diocesan hierarchy (the dean and the archdeacons), and part nominated.

The Bishop’s Council, typically meeting once a year in October, advises the diocesan bishop on any matter which he may refer to the council and any such other duties assigned by the standing orders of, or by resolution of, the diocesan synod.

All members of the Bishop’s Council are Directors of the Diocesan Board of Finance which meets as part of the group of meetings.

Bishop’s nominee to Bishop’s Council

(under the Diocesan Constitution, up to four may be nominated by the Bishop and serve for the duration of the Diocesan Synod triennium)

The Reverend Richard Bromley

Mr David Gowan CMG

Secretary: The Diocesan Secretary