You are here About the Diocese People Diocesan Synod

Members of Diocesan Synod

The Church of England has a parliamentary system of representation called a synod. The highest ranking of these is General Synod, and within our diocese we have Diocesan Synod and Archdeaconry Synods.

Why is Diocesan Synod important?

It might be difficult to see the importance of the Diocesan Synod in our context where the "Diocese" seems always to be so far away. For example, with the proposed increase in the Chaplaincy contributions, it has become very important to discuss about the what it is to be an Anglican in Europe and how the Bishops, Archdeacons, Safeguarding team and the whole Diocesan office team can best support the work done in local congregations. Taking part in the Synod elections - either by being nominated as a candidate or by voting - is an opportunity to make a difference. It is also an expression of taking seriously the call and commitment to work together with the wider church in proclaiming the gospel and serving people.

Diocesan Synod meets to:

  • Consider matters concerning the Church of England
  • Make provision for these matters in relation to the Diocese
  • Consider and express an opinion on matters of religious or public interest
  • Advise the Bishop on matters on which he may consult Synod
  • Consider and express an opinion on any matters referred to it by the General Synod
  • Discussing matters raised by the Archdeaconry Synods
  • Act as the Diocesan Board of Finance

Diocesan Synod last met in May 2018. The notes are available here.

Members are elected every three years. They meet with the Bishops, Archdeacons and the Dean of Gibraltar Cathedral in a residential Synod which normally meets once a year, usually in late May or early June. Current members are:

Elections for Members of Diocesan Synod 2018-21 are complete. The Results are available here.

Share this page: