You are here About the Diocese People General Synod

General Synod Representatives

The Church of England has a parliamentary system of representation called a synod. The General Synod is the highest ranking and is the national assembly of the Church of England. It considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level. It consists of three ‘Houses’ – Bishops, Clergy and Laity. In addition to our Diocesan Bishop, the diocese has 3 clerical and 3 lay representatives. Current representatives are:


House of Bishops

The Rt Revd Dr Robert Innes

House of Clergy

The Revd Canon Debbie Flach

The Revd Tuomas Mäkipää

The Revd Canon Giles Williams

House of Laity

Mr Tjeerd Bijl

Mr David Coulston

Mrs Madeleine Holmes


Share this page: