You are here About the Diocese Safeguarding Workshops for Safeguarding Officers
Menu

Development Workshops & Clinics 2022

To book your place on any upcoming events, click the Register button, which will open Eventbrite on a new tab.

 9th March         Supporting Victims / Survivors and those impacted 

The Zoom recording of the workshop is available here. The Access Passcode is: 5afeguard1ng*. Lisa's PowerPoint presentation and notes are available on request to europe.safeguarding@churchofengland.org.

26th May                  Safeguarding Conference

The Zoom recording of the conference is available here. The Access Passcode is: 5afeguard1ng!.

11th June           Induction for new Chaplaincy Safeguarding Officers

What you need to know about your role (For CSOs in post for less than 12 months).

9:30 – 11:30 (BST) | 10:30 – 12:30 (CEST) | 11:30 - 13:30 (EEST)

BREAK then return

13:00 – 14:30 (BST) | 14:00 – 15:30 (CEST) | 15:00 - 16:30 (EEST)  Register

 

12th July           Unconscious Bias

Unconscious biases can influence a person’s judgement without them being aware of it. Being aware of unconscious bias and having the tools to overcome it are important strategies for creating a fairer and more inclusive church.

This workshop aims to help participants to be aware of potentially harmful unconscious biases and to reduce the impact of those biases on their interactions with others.

14:00 – 16:00 (BST) | 15:00 – 17:00 (CEST) | 16:00 - 18:00 (EEST)   Register

 

10th August       Dashboard drop-in clinic

An informal chance to ask questions and share good practice ideas and tips

10:00 – 11:30 (BST) | 11:00 – 12:30 (CEST) | 12:00 - 13:30 (EEST)   Register

 

13th October     Lessons Learned Findings

This workshop will look at the outcomes of the Past Cases Review with recommendations for best practice and advice for Chaplaincy Safeguarding Officers.  

9:30 – 11:30 (BST) | 10:30 – 12:30 (CEST) | 11:30 - 13:30 (EEST)   Register

 

12th November  Induction for new Chaplaincy Safeguarding Officers

What you need to know about your role (For CSOs in post for less than 12 months).

9:30 – 11:30 (BST) | 10:30 – 12:30 (CEST) | 11:30 - 13:30 (EEST)

BREAK then return

13:00 – 14:30 (BST) | 14:00 – 15:30 (CEST) | 15:00 - 16:30 (EEST)  Registration available from 12th June

 

 7th December  Those who offend – what is our responsibility?

A safeguarding workshop looking at how we approach the perpetrators of abuse.

In a workshop earlier in the year, we looked at how to support victims / survivors of abuse; in this workshop we look at what our responsibilities are towards the perpetrators. 

16:00 – 18:00 (BST) | 17:00 – 19:00 (CET) | 18:00 - 20:00 (EEST)  Register

 

Raising Awareness of Domestic Abuse - online course
This course will help you to develop a greater understanding of what Domestic Abuse is, who it affects, as well as its impact on individuals, children, the wider family, and the community. How does this relate to Christian faith and Church communities? By the end of the course you will have an increased awareness of the needs of domestic abuse survivors in order to support them effectively, while at the same time understanding the boundaries and limitations of your own role. This course is recommended for everyone and is mandatory for the following:

  • Anyone holding the Bishop’s licence, commission, authorisation, or permission (clergy, PtO, Readers, LLMs)
  • Bishops Visitors / Pastoral Visitors
  • Safeguarding Officers
  • Ordinands during IME 1
  • PCC Members / Lay Chapter Members.
  • Staff at Theological Education Institutions with student facing roles.
  • Members of the Diocesan Safeguarding Advisory Panel.

Please refer to the Pathway for more information on the course aims and outcomes. The link to the online training is here. You will need to log in to your Church of England Safeguarding Training Portal account to access the learning.

 

Safer Recruitment practice is changing
Please be advised that we will be providing an update on how this affects the Diocese in Europe as soon as we are able to. At this time we do not recommend that you complete the online Safer Recruitment course available through the Church of England training portal until our policy decisions are agreed.

Share this page: