You are here About the Diocese Safeguarding Training
Menu

Safeguarding Training 2022-23

Safeguarding training is an important part of the Church's commitment to making Churches safe through the promotion of good preventative safeguarding practice.

Safeguarding is everybody’s responsibility, therefore we encourage everyone to complete the short Basic Awareness course online. Learn how to help make your Chaplaincy a safe and healthy Christian community.

For church officers, clergy and lay, a training progression programme is offered based on your role.  Please refer to the Core Safeguarding Learning Pathways or to the flowchart to understand what training levels you should complete depending on your role.

2022 Safeguarding Leadership training course dates

2023 Safeguarding Leadership training course dates

Raising Awareness of Domestic Abuse is an additional issue-based training pathway now available online on the Church of England National Safeguarding Team's online learning portal.

** Currently all safeguarding training across the Diocese in Europe is accessed either online, or on Zoom. **

Diocese in Europe Safeguarding Training Pathway

Basic Awareness - online course

This course is recommended for everyone. To learn how to be a vigilant and responsible Christian community. This course looks at how to spot signs of abuse and how to respond. If your role requires you to progress your training, this course is prerequisite for all other training modules.

The course takes about 1 hour to complete, but you can take a break and resume your training at any time. The link to the online training is here.

You will be prompted to set up an account with the Church of England National Safeguarding Team's online learning portal to access the learning. When you create your account, you will be asked to create a username and password; enter the username and password each time you log on to the portal.


Foundations - online course

The Foundations course is required for everyone who has safeguarding responsibilities, or if your church role requires you to be in regular contact with children, young people and/or vulnerable adults. It can also be accessed by anyone who wishes to build on the learning from the Basic Awareness course.

The link to the online training is here.

You will need to log in to your Church of England National Safeguarding Team's online learning portal account with your username and password to access the learning.

If you experience any difficulties with the training portal - please email their support team directly for assistance: elearning@safeguardingtraining.cofeportal.org.


Leadership – virtual training course

This training course is required for anyone who has safeguarding leadership responsibilities or is responsible for leading activities involving children, young people and/or vulnerable adults.

This training provides a learning module which includes a mixture of reading, reflection and preparation work, two 2 hour Zoom sessions with experienced Safeguarding facilitators, review and evaluation work.  The course explores what effective leadership behaviour should look like in respect of safeguarding, and how to respond effectively to safeguarding concerns.  A learning log is provided to guide you through the course work, along with a resource handbook with links for further reading.

2022-23 Safeguarding Leadership training course dates:

The two sessions are scheduled to take place one week apart at the same time. Trainees must be available for both course dates.

Course materials, including pre-training reflection activities and links to additional reading, are sent to you a few weeks prior to the first session. We request that your answers to the reflection questions are returned about a week before the first session, to give the course facilitator time to review them and structure the learning accordingly.

Click the Register button to book your place for any of the available courses listed below. This will open Eventbrite on a new tab for you to enter your details.

Where courses are full, you may add your name to a waiting list. We cannot guarantee that you will be able to attend that course, but in the event of a cancellation, you will be contacted by the DST. Those on the waiting list will be contacted in order of registering, and we will move on to the next name on the list in the event of a non-response.

Times are provided for the UK and Western, Central and Eastern European time zones. You can check the correct time for the country or region where you will be joining from here.

 

Month Training day Session 1 Session 2 Start Time  
October Thursday 6th 13th 12:00 BST/WEST | 13:00 CEST | 14:00 EEST Waiting list
  Saturday 22nd 29th 10:00 BST/WEST | 11:00 CEST | 12:00 EEST ** Course full **
November Thursday 10th 17th 09:30 GMT/WET | 10:30 CET | 11:30 EET Waiting list
  Tuesday 22nd 29th 16:00 GMT/WET | 17:00 CET  | 18:00 EET Waiting list
December Thursday 1st 8th 13:00 GMT/WET | 14:00 CET | 15:00 EET Waiting list
January Wednesday 11th 18th 09:30 GMT/WET | 10:30 CET | 11:30 EET 1 place left
  Saturday 21st 28th 10:00 GMT/WET | 11:00 CET | 12:00 EET Register
February Thursday 9th 16th 13:00 GMT/WET | 14:00 CET | 15:00 EET Register
  Monday 20th 27th 17:30 GMT/WET | 18:30 CET | 19:30 EET Register
March Tuesday 7th 14th 13:00 GMT/WET | 14:00 CET | 15:00 EET Register
  Saturday 18th 25th 10:00 GMT/WET | 11:00 CET | 12:00 EET Register
  Monday 27th April 3rd 17:30 BST/WEST | 18:30 CEST | 19:30 EEST Register
 April Wednesday 19th 26th 09:30 BST/WEST | 10:30 CEST | 11:30 EEST Register
May Saturday 6th 13th 10:00 BST/WEST | 11:00 CEST | 12:00 EEST Register
  Tuesday 16th 23rd 14:00 BST/WEST | 15:00 CEST | 16:00 EEST Register
June Tuesday 6th 13th 17:30 BST/WEST | 18:30 CEST | 19:30 EEST Register
  Wednesday 21st 28th 09:30 BST/WEST | 10:30 CEST | 11:30 EEST Register

 

Safeguarding training must be refreshed every 3 years, by repeating the highest level of training relevant to your role. For example, for a Churchwarden or someone who leads activities with children, young people or adults at risk, and who has completed the Basic Awareness, Foundations and Leadership courses, the refresher requirement would be to repeat the Leadership course after 3 years. This requirement is to keep you aware of changes to safeguarding practice and policy, and to ensure that your chaplaincy and the Diocese are legally compliant. 


Raising Awareness of Domestic Abuse - online course

This course will help you to develop a greater understanding of what Domestic Abuse is, who it affects, as well as its impact on individuals, children, the wider family, and the community. How does this relate to Christian faith and Church communities? By the end of the course you will have an increased awareness of the needs of domestic abuse survivors in order to support them effectively, while at the same time understanding the boundaries and limitations of your own role. This course is recommended for everyone and is mandatory for the following:

  • Anyone holding the Bishop’s licence, commission, authorisation, or permission (clergy, PtO, Readers, LLMs)
  • Bishops Visitors / Pastoral Visitors
  • Safeguarding Officers
  • Ordinands during IME 1
  • PCC Members / Lay Chapter Members.
  • Staff at Theological Education Institutions with student facing roles.
  • Members of the Diocesan Safeguarding Advisory Panel.

Please refer to the Pathway for more information on the course aims and outcomes. The link to the online training is here. You will need to log in to your Church of England Safeguarding Training Portal account to access the learning.


Safer Recruitment practice is changing

Please be advised that we will be providing an update on how this affects the Diocese in Europe as soon as we are able to. At this time we do not recommend that you complete the online Safer Recruitment course available through the Church of England training portal until our policy decisions are agreed.

 


For enquiries, please contact the Diocesan Safeguarding Team: europe.safeguarding@churchofengland.org

Please let us know if there are any barriers to the materials provided (for example, language or accessibility) so that we can assist you.

Return to top

Share this page: